Support

Housing and Residential Education is invested in your experience at the “U”. At times, you may find yourself needing additional support. HRE has established connections to resources all over campus. Our goal is to connect you with resources at the “U” based on what you need.

To start, reach out to your Resident Director and/or Resident Advisor. They have a wealth of knowledge of campus resources. You may also contact the Resident Outreach Coordinator at jthren@housing.utah.edu. The Resident Outreach Coordinator is a full-time staff member dedicated to supporting students along their journey at the U. HRE staff members will introduce what resources are available and assist in connecting you with those resources. Contact information is below:

Housing & Residential Education on call staff, through the front desk:

  • Peterson Heritage Center: 801-587-2000
  • Marriott Honors Community: 801-587-8444
  • Lassonde Studios: 801-213-8700

HRE Staff Members: 

Matt Phister
RD: Lassonde Studios
801-213-8706
mphister@housing.utah.edu

Sig Ferguson
RD: Marriott Honors Community & Officers Circle
801-587-8442
sferguson@housing.utah.edu

Jenni Schreiner
Interim RD: Sage Point
801-587-2949
jferguson@housing.utah.edu

Addison Butler
RD: Gateway Heights & Chapel Glen
801-587-0820
abutler@housing.utah.edu

Jimmy Thren
Resident Outreach Coordinator
801-213-8723
jthren@housing.utah.edu 

Emily Thompson
RD: Benchmark Plaza & Shoreline Ridge
801-587-2936
ethompson@housing.utah.edu

Cha McNeil
RD: Social Justice Advocates
801-213-0949
cmcneil@housing.utah.edu

Joshua Hutchinson
RD: Residence Hall Association
801-587-2907
jhutchinson@housing.utah.edu

Shane Rivera
RD: Block 44, Cedar Court 700, and Downtown Commons 1 & 2
801-587-2978
srivera@housing.utah.edu

Kolay Carver
Assistant Director of Conduct and Resident Outreach
801-587-9718
k.carver@housing.utah.edu

Resources at the U:

Department Name Phone Website 
Department of Public Safety (Police, Security, Dispatch, Emergency Management) 801-585-2677 https://dps.utah.edu/ 
Dean of Students, (Student Conduct, Behavioral Intervention) 801-581-7066 https://deanofstudents.utah.edu/

University Counseling Center

801-581-6826 http://counselingcenter.utah.edu/
Student Health Center 801-581-6431 https://Studenthealth.utah.edu
Center for Student Wellness (Health Education, Victim-Support Advocacy) 801-213-3777 https://wellness.utah.edu
Center for Disability & Access 801-581-5487 https://Disability.utah.edu
International Student & Scholar Services 801-581-8876 https://internationalcenter.utah.edu
Office for Equity and Diversity (American Indian Resource Center, Black Cultural Center, Center for Ethnic Affairs, LGBT Resource Center) 801-581-7569 https://diversity.utah.edu
Veteran Support Center 801-587-7722 https://veteranscenter.utah.edu 
Women’s Resource Center 801-581-8030 https://womenscenter.utah.edu

Office of Equal Opportunity (Sexual Misconduct reporting and investigation),

801-581-8365 https://Oeo.utah.edu